Balloon Lady in Training

For those who know what a Balloon Lady is, beware! For those who don’t, she is a sweet lady..who sweeps you if she’s about to pass you at runDisney races. Wait, what?! Let me break it down for you: if you ever find yourself at a Disney race and see groups of women holding balloons, you better hustle your butt to the finish otherwise, they’ll transport you in a vehicle towards the finish line. And, no, you will not get your finisher’s medal. It’s true and unfortunate but “once they sweep, you start to weep.”

Still having that nagging injury from Rock ‘n Roll Los Angeles Halloween 2013 and knowing very well I would be pacing the Malibu Marathon 2013 two weekends later, I could not participate at Run Hard Rock Cafe 2013. I, literally, walked the entire course since it was not an option to not be present (remember, I have this cringing feeling of having DNF, DQ, or DNR next to my name). Luckily, it was just a 5K (and I say that with grace because I’ve been running marathons) so I decided to have some fun with it.

Since I’m intrigued of becoming a Balloon Lady one day, I trained myself to be one at this race. I didn’t do a very good job as I passed up several walkers at a fast-walking pace. Oops! Side note: I just had to represent my cupcakes on those balloons. 😉

This was an out-and-back race, which I am not a fan of but to be able to run, er, walk down Hollywood Blvd. without traffic/cars/crazy people made it so much fun! Time to turn around!

I took some serious thought into whether I should sprint or jump for joy to the finish. I made the smart (and healthy) choice and crossed with so much joy. 😀

I met up with some Instagram friends afterwards. What a fun bunch!

This was Run Hard Rock Cafe’s inaugural event and I must say, unbiasedly, I and everyone else had a ton of fun! It was well-organized, fully stocked with on-course and post race munchies and liquids, and the medal was bangin’! When registration opens later this year, I highly recommend signing up yourself and your friends. It’s a good time to be had by all!

Until the next post..

keep on running!

comments?

