Only 13 miles to go!

While training for Nike Women’s Marathon SF 2013, I encountered an unfortunate injury but did every thing possible to make sure I’d run to the best of my ability come race day. I came, I conquered, and I succeeded..and then my nagging injury gave a big F-U a few days post race. I had another race the weekend after (a half marathon, to be exact) so I took it easy and made strength training my focus until then. Knowing I hadn’t ran since the race but not realizing I wouldn’t feel the effects of hitting the pavement until race morning, I naively didn’t wear my knee brace. W-T-F. I know – I kept thinking the same thing while on course and believe me when I say I substantially suffered the consequences during those 13 miles.


It was Halloween themed (being that it was on October 27, 2013 and put on by Rock ‘n Roll Los Angeles of Competitor Group) so several runners came dressed as Spiderman, a Power Ranger, and, in my case, my high school Cross Country self..just to name a few. 😉

As I was warming up in my corral, I couldn’t help but pray for an almost painless and stress free run. I was lucky to be surrounded by people I didn’t know because I wanted to be in my own thoughts in that moment in time. I was (and it’s still scary to say to this day) nervous for my legs and sanity. I was good for the first .1 miles until I was completely and dramatically over it. My knee kicked me where it hurt the most and I had 13 miles to go. Holy pitfall.

The above face shows how I looked for, pretty much, a majority of the run. I know I ran with a limp. Sigh. I really didn’t prefer the out-and-back run, and it really messes with my mind when I see runners on the other side knowing they’re much closer to the finish line than I am. “Where’s the turnaround?!” was what I kept asking myself. Looking at the runners cheer behind me in the picture above, it looks as if it was taken shortly after the turnaround, which was when I got my second (or first?) wind and ready to blow the run out of the water!

This was taken as I was nearing the finish. I wanted to capture the “I probably shouldn’t have ran but I hate the thought of getting a DNF (Did Not Finish), DQ (Disqualified), or DNR (Did Not Run) next to my name” photo. Also, I wanted to show the face of “I did it! I survived! Now somebody carry me, please!”

I ran into my high school buddy, Jobert after the race! What a coincidence that we met when I was running Cross Country and I happened to be dressed in my high school’s uniform. 🙂

It’s always a good time when my New Year’s Race Crew and I run the same races and meet-up afterwards. They’re my running family for life!

Since I was in uniform, I thought it would be fitting to recreate my high school Cross Country picture. I’d say I’ve definitely improved the attire, shoes, …oh man, this comparison makes me laugh every time!

The moral of the story is this: when life hands you lemons, try to squeeze as much juice as you can out of it. It’s so much sweeter on the other side. 🙂

Until the next post..

keep on running!

One thought on “Only 13 miles to go!

  1. Pingback: Balloon Lady in Training | Karolynh Can Run (and so can you!)

comments?

