“I’ll pace ya.”

I knew my friends were running Long Beach Half Marathon but, for some strange reason, I forgot. This is what happens when you sign up for races like a good habit. πŸ˜‰

As I was walking towards my corral while putting my ear buds in, I thought about how it was going to be my first time running a race alone..and I began feeling sad. It was a strange feeling, for sure, because I typically have friends who run the same races I do. We don’t necessarily run together but we’re usually at the same race.

“Karolynh. Karolynh!” said a slightly familiar voice.

It was Reanne! I’ve known this girl for, man, so many years and it was awesome to see her grow into the amazing woman she is today. Her parents didn’t raise no fool. Props! FYI: I look exhausted due to lack of sleep. Sigh, first world problems. Just kidding – that was a joke. πŸ™‚

She let me know how nervous she was running her very first half marathon. I said she had it in the bag to run the entire 13.1 miles because 1) she’s been training, 2) she’s mentally prepared herself for it, and 3) not giving her best just isn’t in her bones. I offered to pace her but also let her know that it was a race to enjoy and not stress about because it was her first.

I believe this girl thoroughly enjoyed the race because she kept an eye out for the photographers! Haha! πŸ˜€

And look who I found on the course! I virtually met Michelle on Instagram (@inanutchelle) and she said she was going to make a sign for me. It was her first time spectating because she’s usually running on the course. Ain’t her signs the cutest? I’m so glad she didn’t turn out to be Instaweird. Haha! πŸ˜€

And just like that on October 13, 2013, Reanne set an amazing PR for it being her first time running a half marathon! She said she’s ready for more. I said she’s ready to run a full marathon. Hehe.

Until the next run..

keep on running!

comments?

