Run Like a Girl

Yeah, I run like a girl (does anyone even know what that means?) because I am a girl, but that’s not what I’m referring to.

Dawn Rushing of The Rushing Herd set out a goal: 30 half marathons by the time she turns 30-years old.

I loved and admired the fact that she set out a goal that’s both mentally and physically challenging because 1) she was ready and willing to change an unhealthy lifestyle for herself and 2) she wanted to show her children how being active can be an awesome thing. My sister stumbled upon her website as she was looking to register for more runs (we’re both determined like that).

“Let’s do Run Like a Girl.”

The name alone threw me off because 1) I don’t want to be a part of a stereotype and 2) it sounded more like a fun run than anything. Don’t get me wrong – I enjoy fun runs. But at this specific point in my life, I wanted something challenging..more challenging. Well, I was proven wrong. Run Like a Girl – Virtual Run Series was created by Dawn because she became inspired by Girls on the Run – Northeast Tennessee. This run was to help raise awareness about the organization and 100% of the proceeds (after medal and processing fees) would go directly to the non-profit. Their mission is…

“We inspire girls to be joyful, healthy and confident using a fun, experience-based curriculum which creatively integrates running. We envision a world where every girl knows and activates her limitless potential and is free to boldly pursue her dreams.”

Those two sentences alone had me immediately browsing their website to find out how I can help even further, and signed up for Dawn’s run that had the option of running a 5K, 10K, half marathon, or full marathon. Due to my schedule, I proudly ran a 5K at the beach (talk about challenging myself, huh? Hey, I ran intervals on the sand. I think that’s quite a challenge in itself.).

(ain’t the medal spiffy? I love how it says “Be Confident.”)

Check out Girls on the Run, learn more about their mission, and help support a local council near you!

Until the next post…

keep on running (and helping others!)!

comments?

