Who will win: ME or SF?

When you think of San Francisco, what’s the first thing that comes to mind: beauty and wonder or hills, hills, and hills?

It’s natural for me to think: ME vs. SF, right?

I had been training for this beast for quite some time with determination (trained like a mother), hunger (strike from highly preferred foods), and strength (stayed in instead of wildin’ out). So when there was only a week left before I would set foot on the course, I knew there was no time to be scared anymore. This was IT!

Welcome to San Francisco!

After we ran the LA Marathon, I told my sis and our friend, Keith that I registered for the SF Marathon as there was a challenge called “LA/SF Marathon Challenge” – finish both in the same calendar year and receive a pretty sweet, big coaster finisher medal. Keith immediately agreed and my sister..took her time to register for it. What the power of peer pressure can do! ๐Ÿ˜€ So here we are heading towards the Airtram. She and I walk at normal pace, while Keith takes it easy. His reason? “I’m from Hawai’i.” Aloha, bruh.

I, somehow, became pregnant after a couple of hours landing in SF. Pregnant with yummy goodness known as apple pastries at a well-known spot, that is! I know I know, it’s terrible before a long distance run but I deprived myself of all things sweet for so long that..I’ll stop here. I just really wanted it, ok?!

I was so happy to meet-up with my fellow NYR Ambassador at the expo, which was gigantic as you can see (two whole rooms!). I’m really digging our colorful shoes here. ๐Ÿ™‚

It was pretty hard not smiling as I’m notoriously known to naturally smile all of the time. The window statement holds true so, please, don’t mess with us. ๐Ÿ˜€

Alas, it’s time to rest up for the glorious 26.2 miles in the morning. Seeing this was all encouraging.

Tick, tock, tick, tock, riiiiiing! It’s GO time!

I typically don’t take pictures before a run because I’m usually a nervous wreck, so here we are at mile I-don’t-remember for a perfect photo opportunity. We were getting pretty stoked to run that bridge behind us!

Yes yes, we’re running on the Golden Gate Bridge! It felt so surreal, so awesome, and so cold, which is why I’m wearing those grandma gloves. The hands are the first thing to get cold so when they’re cold, the rest of the body gets cold and that’s particularly not a good thing for runners. I must share that it felt like forever-and-a-day running on that bridge because I’m used to going over it in a flash..by way of motor vehicle. Haha!

You will not defeat me, SF! I think it’s time to get a armpit tan – what do you think?

Ok, time for a quick recap of what happened between miles I-don’t-know and I-don’t-remember. I shared a strategy for us to run the flat and downhill parts and speed walk the hills of the course so as to not use up our energy. It turned out to be a great strategy (you’ll know why at the end) even with my sister and Keith encountering two unfortunate incidences. Keith went into dry heaving mode, which I had to “run away” from because the vomit sound made me want to throw up, too. I felt bad for leaving him but knew he’d be okay as there were several people nearby (and, really, there’s no sense in two people throwing up versus one ๐Ÿ˜‰ ). And my sister decided to play “catch-up” (is there such a thing?) by sprinting one of the downhills because “..I wanted to make-up for the lack of running back there..” What the..? She just lost some power right there!

As my sis and I were finishing the last few miles, we stopped to hydrate at a water station. Here’s how we got separated: after finishing my drink, I turned my head back to look for her, I swear she saw me, and then turned my head back to continue running. I slowed down knowing she’d catch up but never did (she swears she didn’t see me take off so she waited for me), so you know what that means? I beat her! Yahoooo! I must say that, at every race, my goal is to beat the course and my PR but I was kinda/sorta hoping to beat my sister at this run, too, since she beat me at the LA Marathon. Teehee. I do feel bad for (not purposely) leaving her but, at this point, I just wanted to finish the dang thing and in under 5 hours.

I know this looks like the aftermath of throwing up because I’m standing next to a huge trash can with my hand over my mouth, but this was actually after crying tears of joy! I never thought I’d run both the LA and SF Marathons because, hello, that’s 26.2 miles each! Forget that, I never thought I’d finish the SF Marathon let alone register for it! But I did. I trained hard and accomplished something I never thought possible. Hooray for believing in oneself! New PR time for the full marathon: 05:01:46 (darn you, 01:46!)! ๐Ÿ˜€

ME – 1, SF – 0!

Check out who came to support us: fellow Nike Women’s Marathon Ambassador Sam! Go ahead and rock that Nike gear, girl!

Here I am with fellow New Year’s Race Los Angeles at Night Ambassadors Michael and Jimmy! They both won free entries for the SF 2nd Half Marathon through refreshe. I’m so glad they won and were able to join in on the monstrous course. ๐Ÿ˜‰

This guy also runs for fun. ๐Ÿ˜€ I was so happy my BFF, Ko came to show his support. SoCal misses you!

I never thought we’d share anything because she bullied me growing up, so it surprised me when she took up running. It’s nice to share something with your sibling(s). I feel like we’ll always be in competition with each other though (her more so than me). Ha!

We did it! We ALL set new personal records! Triple KT’s beat the LA/SF Marathon Challenge. I wouldn’t have it any other way.

Until the next post..

keep on running!

comments?

