I wasn’t able to run Nike Women’s Marathon DC 2013..

..but I was able to run Nike Running the Grove on the same day! ๐Ÿ˜€

Nike created an event to run a half marathon at The Grove in Los Angeles, CA. For those who were unable to make Nike Women’s Marathon DC 2013 and/or interested in running a half marathon, they invited anyone and everyone to this free but limited capacity running party! I’ve never RSVP’d so quickly in my life! Since I arrived early to pick up my personalized bib, I was able to take a quick nap in the car but not before taking this:

Team Victorious, the most awesome running crew ever held a virtual run that weekend as well and since I hadn’t done my Run for Boston yet, this was the perfect opportunity to combine the two. Isn’t that Brooks Running shirt just too perfect? Cupcakes + Running = Happy Karolynh. Good looking out, sis! ๐Ÿ˜€

If you’re not familiar, Team Victorious is an online crew made up of fierce runners. We support each other as well as share ideas on all things running. Meet-ups may occur but because everyone is scattered throughout the globe, it’s rare but sweet when it happens. So as I stood in my chosen pace group, I noticed a lady wearing Team Victorious gear. Don’t ask me why but I was so shy to even say “Hi” to her! The lady standing next to her noticed her gear as well and said “Hey, I’m part of Team Victorious, too! Nice to meet you!” This would’ve been the perfect time to say “Hey, me, too!” but, alas, I was still very shy. One of them even tapped me and asked “Will you take our picture, please?” You would think I would say something right here but, sigh, I just happily obliged. What the heck was wrong with me?! I got so upset that I forced myself to turn around and say “Hey, I’m with Team Victorious, too!”ย  They were so friendly and we (of course) talked about what events we ran up to this point, specifically how we wished we were in DC running the inaugural event. Ha!

I’ve never ran with a pace group before so since they had them here, I took advantage of the opportunity to try it out. It was nice to be kept at bay because I’m notorious for going “a little too fast too soon.” What can I say, it’s the adrenaline from the excitement of running! After a while, I went ahead because I typically run in between minutes. I tried catching up to the group in front of me but it was a no-go..this time. I will get you next time! Because the event started at 9AM, which is really late compared to the typical 6:30/7AM start time and the day was slated to be hot, we were bound to be slowed down. Grr. If you know your way around The Grove, running from Fairfax to Wilton on 3rd St. is faaar. At least, it felt far and monotonous with the sun shining bright like a diamond in my face. Don’t ask me why I didn’t bring my hat because I don’t even have an answer for that. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

ZICO (chocolate) coconut water does a body good.

At the last mile and a half, they were handing out ZICO bottles of coconut as well as chocolate coconut water. I had never drank the chocolate version before this because I was already not a fan of the coconut water, but because I was lacking fluids and willing to hydrate with anything at this point I grabbed the bottle of chocolate coconut water like a 2-year old snatching from another 2-year old. It.was.delicious. I’m a fan for life now! Once I saw the finish chute, I hurriedly ran down with ZICO water in hand..and waved it like I just didn’t care. It was definitely a fun run with newbies who had the look of “What the heck did I RSVP for?” on their face to kids who grinned from ear-to-ear after crossing the finish line. I bumped into one of the Team V gals afterwards and we gave each other a high five. Congrats, everyone! We did it!

The event gave limited goodie bags to finishers, which included a mini bottle of water, several samples and flyers, a huge bottle of ZICO coconut water (which I will add chocolate powder to), and two Nike shoelaces. I can fancy up my shoes now – sweet! They also gave limited dry-fit unisex tees at bib pick-up, which reads

LET’S TURN IT UP

Oh I turned it up alright: I PR’d by 2 minutes! Now if I can just get it to the sub I want, life will be fantastic. But it’s pretty great thus far so I’m not complaining. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Until the next post..

keep on running!

4 Replies to “I wasn’t able to run Nike Women’s Marathon DC 2013..”

  1. HI Karolyn, I finally had time to catch up on your blog. Great job on the virtual race and good luck with all your ambassadorships. Maybe I’ll get to see you in SF!

    1. Hi Karen! Running and blogging is like a full-time gig so I’m glad you were able to catch up, which reminds me that I need to update this thing. Haha. We’ll definitely have to meet-up in October! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I totally sympathize with you about shyness. I was too shy to say hi to any of the other Team Victorious ladies at the SF NWM. Yet, it was amazing hearing the other sole sisters yell, “Go Team Victorious!” during the race.
    And I beyond love that t-shirt! Cupcakes and running, can’t beat that combo!

comments?

