Challenge..accepted?

Last year, I volunteered at the Disneyland Half Marathon in Disneyland, CA. I mean, Disneyland in Anaheim, CA. They might as well be their own city (seriously)! I had a lot of fun congratulating runners and handing them their snack pack of goodies post-run. They weren’t too thrilled with what was inside and even asked for something else (“I’m just a volunteer. I have no control. I’m sorry!) but now that I know what it feels like to do long distance running at an organized event,  I’d much rather have a good meal over snacks. They do give out more compared to other organized running events though. I became half interested (no pun intended) in running the Disneyland Half Marathon until I saw

The bling.

Check out Running with Sass. She has a nice recap of the event.

The medal that all finishers received was quite nice (Hi, Walt!) but the Coast-to-Coast medal caught my eye: a huge, gold piece of the forever popular ‘D’ that represents all things Disney. “How come only certain people have it around their necks?” was what I kept asking myself. And then I remembered from volunteering at the expo the day before: to receive that huge chunk of medal, one must run both the half marathon (or marathon) at Walt Disney World in Florida and Disneyland in California the same year. My interest heightened as I concluded that I love destination running events so I’m there! Registrants don’t have to go through a lottery system for runDisney but they do sell out and fast. My friend did the Goofy Challenge at Walt Disney World and I thought she was crazy. What’s the Goofy Challenge, one might ask?

Run the half marathon on Saturday and the full marathon on Sunday.

Check out A Runner’s Blog. He’s “just an average guy running a long race.”

As in, the very next day. Not only would that be rough physically but tough mentally as the full marathon goes through the same route as the half marathon. I get bored pretty easily so I wasn’t too interested in participating. However, I did tell myself that I will register for the Disneyland and Walt Disney World Half Marathons because I love Disneyland, I want that Coast-to-Coast medal, and I’ve always wanted to go to Disney World. As time came around to register for a Disney run though, I psyched myself into wanting to register for the Goofy Challenge because 1)I’d get not one, not two, but three medals and 2)it’s a challenge. And if you don’t know this about me by now, I love me a challenge!

I asked my friend if she was signing up for the Goofy Challenge and she said “Sign-up for the Dopey Challenge!” The what?! What’s this, another challenge? Dear Heavens!

Thursday – 5K
Friday – 10K
Saturday – Half Marathon
Sunday – Full Marathon

I take back what I previously said about the Goofy Challenge because this THIS is a challenge. Do I register? Can I do this? Ahhh! After going back and forth with “Should we?/Do we?/Can we?/Would we?”, she mentioned that it is their inaugural event. “Inaugural” is the key word in getting me to sign-up for (almost) anything. Finishers will receive 6 pieces of bling: one for each race plus one for the Goofy Challenge and another for the Dopey Challenge. I must make it clear that bling doesn’t represent a nice piece of shiny medal but that I finished something ever-so challenging. So, which challenge did we sign-up for?

The Dopey Challenge.

Yes, we are crazy. No, I think we are past that, actually. We are dopey. I told my friend that since we’ll be spending so much time together (literally), we’re super besties now. Get ready, Charlene, ’cause I’ll be wanting to parade through each Disney World park like a toddler who just learned how to walk!

Until the next post..

keep on running!

comments?

