Boston Marathon 2013

To qualify for the Boston Marathon, one would have to run fast. Super fast. Because I’m currently nowhere near the qualifying finish time, I penciled it in on my bucket list. Hey, a girl can dream, right? One of my best friends, Ko was running it (he’s ran it twice before) so I wished him all the best and told him to kick butt! I didn’t know what time he was going for but I knew he’d finish strong.

On that fateful Monday morning, I started my day like any other: I had breakfast, got dressed, and drove to the gym. I would occasionally sign on to Facebook to track Ko’s whereabouts. Did he run yet? Did he finish? Before I started my workout, he posted a picture of him just getting to the event. Whoops, I’m early. In my thoughts, I wished him a good run and off I went to strength train. When I got home, I signed on to Facebook again as I was having lunch. My heart stopped.

BOMBING AT BOSTON MARATHON.

My thoughts immediately went to Ko. “IS HE OKAY? HE BETTER BE OKAY.” Luckily, after seeing that post about Boston, his post came up next saying he had already finished and was far and away from the terrifying scene. My heart began to beat again but only for a brief moment as I thought about the other runners, spectators, volunteers, security, anyone and everyone there. Someone put on Twitter

“As a runner, I feel like someone just attacked my friends. As a person, I’m horrified.”

It really did feel like my friends just got attacked. You see, runners have a strong mentality. They live by the “I can and I will and I did” motto. We know what it feels like to hit that pavement, day in and day out, and climb those hills and sprint those intervals. So when we’re out running, we’re friends because we understand each other.

We understand what it takes to be strong.

What followed a horrific scene began an out pour of love and support for Boston and everyone involved. Naturally, this included rage statements being sent through the worldwide web such as “Runners are strong – they just messed with the wrong kind of people.” I, personally, didn’t take this as harm to one another but an insurmountable number of runners, whom most have probably never met, supporting each other through this trying time. Finishers went back on the course to retrieve those injured. Non-participants tried to help those in need. Everybody was helping everybody. We were one and we were united. Unfortunately, many were injured, some lost limbs, and three passed away. I can’t imagine..I’m really at a loss for words at the moment so I will just stop here.

I’m truly, truly glad I’m a part of such a supportive group of people known as runners and that Ko made it home safely to his wife. I pray for those to heal mentally and physically as well as ones who just got their wings – may you rest in Heaven.

If you’d like to help those in need, please purchase the adidas Boston Tribute Tee “boston stands as one” as 100% of the proceeds will go directly to The One Fund Boston. There are too many trying to scam ones into thinking their money will be donated to a similar cause so, please, do your research. There are even some selling the official finisher medal and athletic wear (for a profit, I’m assuming) online. To sum up what Patton Oswald said about the tragic event:

“..the good outnumber you, and we always will.”

Until the next post..

keep on running (and don’t let anyone stop you from doing so)!

comments?

